Set user account authorities

Creating/Editing a New User

1. Make sure you are logged in as a user account with admin authorities.

2. Go to the menu bar at the top of the page and navigate to My Links > User > Profile. If you are unable to see "Profile," you are not logged in as an administrator.

3. On this "Create/Edit User" page, simply fill in the blanks and hit "save" in the top right corner. The fields with an asterisk next to them are required. The full procedure can be found in this article.

 

Setting User Authorities

Authorities control what a user is allowed to do within your company on Wavebid. By default, when you make a new user, all of their permissions are set to "inherited," meaning, they inherit the permissions that Wavebid has set for your entire company. Often, companies will use "permissions" to limit different accounts to whatever their job is within the company. To view/change user authorities:

1. Make sure you are logged in as a user account with admin authorities.

2. Go to the menu bar at the top of the page and navigate to My Links > User > Authorities. If you are unable to see "Profile," you are not logged in as an administrator.

3. In the drop-down menu, begin typing the name or username in the field, and it will show up. Click on it to proceed to the next screen.

4. On this screen, there are two main features, Roles and Permissions

5. Roles apply large, overarching changes to an account. New accounts start with "ROLE_USER" assigned to them which allows them to use the basic features of Wavebid. "ROLE_COMPANY_ADMIN" is a quick way to give a user access to everything within the company on Wavebid. This should be reserved for your most trusted users.

6. Permissions are specific changes made to an account which one can use to fine-tune a user's access within your company. The "selected state" column allows you to choose to "allow" or "disallow" that particular permission. Setting this to "inherited" resets it to the default, company-wide setting. The "actual state" column shows what the current setting is for that user.

7. After you have made all your changes on this page, hit save. The user will have to log out and log back in for these changes to take effect.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.